2 Replies Latest reply on Dec 8, 2011 3:17 AM by Jump_Over

Maybe it was easy...

Jump_Over Level 5

Well, as a beginner I am trying to discover js step by step and all I have is forum, Google and stack of .pdfs

Say, small problem, how to find index of specific Array's element...

...you can call myArray.findIndex("element") written on February 2, 2006

---> doesn't work today (findIndex is not a function)

...you can call toString(myArray).indexOf("element") written on Dec 18, 2009

---> doesn't work today. Result == -1 cause toString(myArray) gives a string "[object Global]"

So, js has changed so much in back, that those kind of basic functions disappears

or there are new ones, I can't google them?

I know I can use statement for and catch index comparing myArray elements step by step, however...

...maybe it was easier at the beginning but Wind of Changes made a pretty mess here, from my position of course...

can u help me? Thx

• 1. Re: Maybe it was easy...
          [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

Jump_Over wrote:

...you can call myArray.findIndex("element") written on February 2, 2006

---> doesn't work today (findIndex is not a function)

You dated it but where did you get it from? I found a reference where it's used (http://www.slideshare.net/thealoysiuns/javascript-forabsolutebeginnersgettingstarted) and right after that the function "findIndex" is defined (which, indeed, loops over each element with a for..loop).

Jump_Over wrote:

...you can call toString(myArray).indexOf("element") written on Dec 18, 2009

---> doesn't work today. Result == -1 cause toString(myArray) gives a string "[object Global]"

That depends on the kind of objects that are stored in myArray. Not everything can be fed into toString.

I know I can use statement for and catch index comparing myArray elements step by step, however...