5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 8, 2011 5:15 PM by fancypants59

Oversaturation problems when opening in RAW

fancypants59

I'm just learning about color profiles and management right now, and can't figure out the cause/solution to this problem.

Here is a screen shot of one image as it appears in Bridge - the one on the left is from the camera import, the one on the right is after it was opened in PS RAW and saved. The same problem carries over to PS5, and it appears as soon as the image is opened. It is not a result of saving or editing.

saturation contrast.jpg

I am trying to include the metadata, since I'll bet someone asks for it, but I have no idea how to copy and paste it. I've looked - my tolerance for frustration has been exceeded.

Thanks for any help.

• 1. Re: Oversaturation problems when opening in RAW
          Jeff Schewe Level 5

It appears that the image on the left is using the embedded JPEG preview and the one on the right is after ACR have generated the preview. In Bridge, if you set your settings to Always High Quality at the top upper right preview options then you won't see any differences in the previews in Bridge, ACR and later when opening in Photoshop.

• 2. Re: Oversaturation problems when opening in RAW
            Noel Carboni Level 7

Assuming you're seeing the difference in the preview of a raw file from your camera and the result of a conversion, let's start with a few basic questions.

• How have you set Bridge to display your thumbnails?

BridgeOptionsForThumbnailQualityAndPreviewGeneration.jpg

• What kind of monitor do you have, and have you calibrated/profiled it?  If so, please describe how.