37 Replies Latest reply on Jan 8, 2012 6:11 PM by kralljd

What would you do with this system and very little geekness?

kd58 Level 1

I am a student and I have a $1000 budget to upgrade my Dell Precision T5400. What would you do?

Here is what the computer has now. It's 300gb only one harddrive is red-lining, almost full.

I want to run Premiere Pro CS5 and AfterEffects. Those are the classes I want to take.

Although as soon as CS6 shows, I will upgrade to that.

Windows Vista 64bit

Dell Precision, T5400 Mini-Tower Quad Core Xeon Proc E5420, 2.50GHZ, 2x6MB L2 Cache, 1333MHz

nVidia Quadro FX1700 512mb dual DVI Graphics Card

320GB SATA 3.0Gb/s, 7200RPM HardDrive with 8MB DataBurst Cache, Dell Precision T7400/5400

C1 All SATA Hard Drive Non-Raid for 1 hard drive

Mini-Tower chassis configuration, Dell Precision T3400

I am trying to decide to go buy another computer ($3000 budget for that) or try to upgrade

this one ($1000 budget for that).

What is good here and what needs replacing? I have never built a system.

• 1. Re: What would you do with this system and very little geekness?
          Lonad95

Hi,

You'd be best just getting a new computer as it saves the all the bother plus you can get one that is better than your other one. With a budget of $3000 you could get fairly top spec computer. Try having a look at Samsung's range of computers as they do some fairly awesome computers these days.

• 2. Re: What would you do with this system and very little geekness?
            Harm Millaard Level 7

You can keep the hard disk. The rest is good for charity purposes, although without a hard disk, it is difficult to start it.

You don't need to be a geek to save money. If you have two hands with opposable thumbs, capable of grasping at straws, you are ready to build your own PC. Read some articles in the FAQ section, found under the overview tab at the top of the main page here to get you started.