14 Replies Latest reply on Mar 2, 2012 1:30 PM by jffinn@mac.com

Auto-naming pdfs from data file

LEngelage

I'm new to scripting but have a question. What script can I utilize to make use of one of the fields which will be (name) and use that to name the file when it is exported?

I found this script but when I run it I get "null is not an object" from line 23, column 1.  I have the .csv file and folder named "pdfs" on my desktop. In the script I replaced "fichier.csv" with the name of my file. The first column in my .csv file is what I intend to rename the pdf files.

var csv=File(Folder.desktop+"/fichier.csv");

var myPDFFolder = Folder(Folder.desktop+"/pdfs");

var names = getNamesFromCSV(csv);

if(csv.exists && myPDFFolder.exists){
          var files = myPDFFolder.getFiles();
          if(files.length==names.length){
              for(var i=0; i<files.length; i++){
                  files[i].rename(files[i].parent+"/"+names[i]+".pdf");
              }
          }
      }

function getNamesFromCSV(csv){
          if(csv.exists){
              csv.open('r');
              var content = csv.read();
              var namesArr = [];
              content=content.split("\n");
              for(var j=0; j<content.length; j++){
                  namesArr.push(content[j].match(/^(.[^\n]+)/i)[1]);
              }

csv.close();
              return namesArr.slice(1,namesArr.length);
          }
          return false;
      }

• 1. Re: Auto-naming pdfs from data file
          absqua Level 4

Hmm. There are a lot of issues here I think. Parsing a csv can be tricky.

You're getting an error because the regular expression you're feeding to .match() isn't matching anything in one of your content members. This is probably the last one—probably there was a newline at the end of the csv, so the last member is empty.