8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 12, 2011 9:53 AM by carface100

Combining template projects

carface100

I have never used After Effects before but I have recently just downloaded two templates. I need to combine both of these templates in one project but when I open one of them and try and import a second it just imports the project folders and none of the timeline. Does anyone know how I can do this as its starting to frustrate me?

• 1. Re: Combining template projects
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Just open one template, then import the other one. As Dave said, the projects are in the folders.

• 2. Re: Combining template projects
            Dave LaRonde Level 6

carface100 wrote:

I have never used After Effects before... when I open one of them and try and import a second it just imports the project folders and none of the timeline.

Have you looked inside the folder that's created when you import the second project?

• 3. Re: Combining template projects
              carface100 Level 1

Yeh and it has all the assets for the project but nothing is put on the timeline. Any motions or animations the template has dont appear on the timeline. Nothing appears on the timeline when I import the project. Should the timeline have layers added when a project is imported?

• 4. Re: Combining template projects
                Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

If your templates contained compositions they end up in the Project window. I've never seen templates without comps, but it's possible to have templates with footage only.

Try opening the template that shows up without comps, then import the other one.

• 5. Re: Combining template projects
                  Dave LaRonde Level 6

carface100 wrote:

...Should the timeline have layers added when a project is imported?