14 Replies Latest reply on Dec 13, 2011 9:08 AM by FrankB62

How to create paragraphs in VBscript

FrankB62 Level 1

Hi,

I am new to scripting in InDesign, and I am having trouble figuring out the correct way of creating paragraphs in a document and appyuing styles to them.

I have read the manual, but I cannot find anything on how to create paragraphs. All I see is adding text to text frames, stories, and existing paragraphs.

What I am after is something like this:

Set P = myStory.Paragraphs.Add

P.Contents = "This is a header"

P.ApplyParagraphStyle myHeaderStyle

Set P = myStory.Paragraphs.Add

P.Contents = "This is normal text"

P.ApplyParagraphStyle MyTextStyle

This obviously doesn't work, as there is no Add method on the Paragraphs collection, but how does one do it then?

• 1. Re: How to create paragraphs in VBscript
          FrankB62 Level 1

Never mind.

I just did a test on creating paragraphs and applying styles to them one at a time (same style on all paragraphs to make it simple), and it runs extremely slow, even with screen updating turned off. This is no way to create documents.

I am going to make a proper program instead, which creates IDML-format files that can be imported into InDesign. This scripting crap is useless for anything other than simple utilities.

• 2. Re: How to create paragraphs in VBscript
            [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

To quote Vincent, "That's a bold statement."

In Javascript, I can create an entire story of plain text and dump that into a text frame, and it'll take any default paragraph formatting I set just before dumping. Then, I can simply address any other paragraph I want to change the style of individual ones.

Here is one link that shows off what a well-written script can do in the hands of someone who knows what he's dealing with: http://www.indiscripts.com/post/2010/01/wordalizer-a-tribute-to-wordle

• 3. Re: How to create paragraphs in VBscript
              FrankB62 Level 1