5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 12, 2011 2:25 PM by RD. Mitchell

Is it possible to print a document exactly as it appears on the screen?

RD. Mitchell Level 1

Like the topic question asks, is it possible to print a document exactly as it appears on the screen? I'm fairly new to indesign and I designed my company's manual recently, taking us away from doing so in Word. I fear I may have made a very amateurish mistake and am dreading having to go back and reposition everything. Some of the problem can be alleviated if I can find a way to print the document exactly as it appears on my monitor or when I export the file to PDF.

What's happening is the page numbering and other items I set up outside of the bleed area (I think that's what it's called...the red box that appears in each document) are refusing to print properly. I want the entire right hand corner of the page to be taken up. Currently, only part of the image is printing. If I choose "scale to fit", then the entire image prints, but it doesn't take up the entire right hand corner. Instead, the graphich repositions itself about an inch away from the edge and bottom of the document.

Failing that, is there a blanket way to scale all items in indesign?

• 1. Re: Is it possible to print a document exactly as it appears on the screen?
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

The whole point of ID is that it DOES print exactly as you see it on the screen (but only waht fits inside the print area of the paper you have loaded in the printer). I suspect you may have put the page number into the non-printing border area that most printers have.

• 2. Re: Is it possible to print a document exactly as it appears on the screen?
            RD. Mitchell Level 1

I suspect that you are correct. Thank you for the response.