2 Replies Latest reply on Dec 18, 2011 12:33 PM by Zmaj888

How to learn video compositing and design for media?

Zmaj888

Hi, I have some concerns about knowledge about digital compositings in After Effects.

I recently started to do  much more in AE, and I have trouble with lack of knowlegde about this topic. I know how to do some stuff technicaly in AE, but I often got suggestions that I must learn more about motion media design and composition of video scenes, camera movement etc, because I trying to do some commercials for tv-i am volonteer currently. My boss request from me more professional results. So do you have some advices which is the best way to start with all of this, to be more successfull in motion design?

All sugestions are welcome!!!

Regards!

• 1. Re: How to learn video compositing and design for media?
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

There are lots of books about Visual Effects from lots of authors. Check Amazon.

Go to Motionographer.com and look at good work. Try and figure out how they did it.

Subscribe to a site like Total Training or Lynda.com or Video Copilot, or others and work through the tutorials.

If you don't know how to draw, at least learn to draw stick figures and storyboard ideas, brain storm, talk with your friends, and come up with ideas. Then, try and do them.

Listen to music, especially instrumental, and try and visualize movement to the music. Timing is as important as composition. Timing to audio is more important than composition.

Look at great artwork from the masters to pop art. I've learned more about lighting for film and photography from spending time in museums and looking at books on great painters than I did from anything else.

Mastering the tools isn't nearly as difficult as mastering the technique. The tools change all the time. The technique of good design and effective story telling don't depend on the software.

• 2. Re: How to learn video compositing and design for media?