3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 3, 2012 11:29 AM by gkaiseril

Need a command line switch to close Acrobat Catalog Index batch file

pcutrone Level 1

I am looking for help with a command line switch.  I am VERY new to scheduling tasks and writing scripts.

Our office created an Acrobat Catalog Index that needs to be updated on a regular basis.  I created a .bpdx file as follows:

\\dept\SPDintelshare\Analysis\2nd Hand Transaction Logs\Secondhand Transaction Logs.pdx /rebuild

This runs via Microsoft Task Scheduler from a .bat file as follows:

"C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 9.0\Acrobat\Acrobat.exe" "C:\Documents and Settings\cutrone0999\Desktop\PawnIndex.bpdx"

The batch runs just like it is supposed to, but it won't close when it is finished re-building.  I have tried using EXIT at the end of the .bat file and that doesn't work.  I also tried a force close for acrobat.exe and that doesn't work either.  The problem is that if I log off my computer the batch will run as scheduled and when I log back on in the morning the scheduled task shows 'running' and I have to end it.  Then I have to re-start my computer or I can't open any Adobe documents.

If I leave my computer logged on, the batch runs as scheduled and when I log back on in the morning I have to close the dialog boxes showing the index re-ran and then close Adobe.

I would appreciate any suggestions.  I have googled this every way I can think of and I'm not finding any results that are helpful.  Thank you in advance!

Paula Cutrone

Lead Crime Analyst

Onondaga Crime Analysis Center

Syracuse, NY

• 1. Re: Need a command line switch to close Acrobat Catalog Index batch file
          Bernd Alheit Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Adobe Acrobat isn't designed for the use in a scheduled task.

• 2. Re: Need a command line switch to close Acrobat Catalog Index batch file
            davidcormie

Paula,