11 Replies Latest reply on Dec 15, 2011 4:33 AM by Ned Murphy

hitTest question

BillyShope

I'm a newbie working on a simple Pong game in Flash5. I have only 2 layers. Ball and paddle are on the first layer. The second layer has a loop with the following action frame:

ball._x += xSpeed;

ball._y += ySpeed;

if(ball._x>620 || ball._x<-90){

xSpeed=-xSpeed;

}

if(ball._y,hitTest(_parent.paddle) || ball._y<0){

ySpeed=-ySpeed;

}

startDrag("paddle",true);

Mouse.hide();

_root.paddle.startDrag(-50,390,650,390);

Obviously (to you), the ball passes right through the paddle. What am I doing wrong?

Also, how can I copy code into this forum without retyping? (I'm certain this is obvious, but I've missed it.)

• 1. Re: hitTest question
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Spend some time thinking thru this line, particularly the first half of it before the || ...

if(ball._y,hitTest(_parent.paddle) || ball._y<0){

• 2. Re: hitTest question

Another thing, you do not reverse the _x direction of travel, so the ball will not reverse direction when it hits the paddle.

To paste code into your posting, if you are using a PC you can use Ctrl-v after copying (Ctrl-c).  Don't know what to tell you for a mac equivalent.

• 3. Re: hitTest question
              BillyShope Level 1

It's evidently wrong, but I don't know where. Believe me, I've considered the problem for some time. I don't find consistency among online usages of "hitTest." Some place a comma before "hitTest," others place a period.

I've got my Pong lying on its side. The ball would fall out the bottom, so I don't want to reverse the _x direction of travel.

Thanks for the posting tip. Why does this forum have to be different from all the others? Rhetorical question.

• 4. Re: hitTest question

Periods are the correct syntax, but hittesting a _y property is not going to get you anything, and the paddle probably doesn't have a _parent relative to the timeline your code is in.