3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 14, 2011 7:54 AM by djanke

Premeire CS5 on HP EliteBook 8460w

djanke

Would it run on machine with these specs.  I have installed the trail, which runs, but I am new to this and not sure what would or would not work. I do have a spare Gtech drive I can use via esata.

2nd Generation Intel® Core™ i7-2620M Processor, 2.70GHz (Turbo up

to 3.40GHz), 1333 MHz, 4MB L3 Cache

Intel Core i7 vPro Label

Mobile Intel QM67 chipset

Estar Label - if anyWindows OS is selected, then label is required.

Intel® vProTM Technology Enabled (IF MSOS is selected MUST

select vPro processor label)

14.0-inch diagonal LED-backlit HD+ anti-glare (1600 x 900) with

Camera

Integrated 720p HD Webcam

AMD FirePro™ M3900 w/1 GB gDDR3

4 GB 1333 MHz DDR2 SDRAM (1D)

160 GB Solid State Drive (SSD)

• 1. Re: Premeire CS5 on HP EliteBook 8460w
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Yes, it runs. Sorry, let me rephrase that, it crawls like a snail that brakes before cornering.

Not enough memory, wrong video card, no second internal SATA 7200 disk, small display, a crippled G-Tech connection over eSATA, at least for G-Tech raids, etc.

• 2. Re: Premeire CS5 on HP EliteBook 8460w
            RjL190365 Level 4

I'm sorry to say this, but it would run even slower than an i3-2100 desktop with an equal amount of system RAM and integrated Intel HD Graphics 2000. Here are the reasons why:

1) That laptop is using only one stick of memory. As such, the memory controller is running only in single-channel. In addition, it has only 4GB total of RAM (but I think you misstated that it uses DDR2 memory when that RAM really is DDR3; none of the modern systems use DDR2 RAM any more).