5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 14, 2011 10:41 AM by Rick Gerard

Frame Blending Problems in AE 5.5

ColoLeff

I'm very new to Adobe Premiere and After Effects.  Just made the switch from FCP to Premiere because the newer Macs don't support FCP anymore.

In AE, whenever I do anything that I use frame blending and/or pixel motion, I get, for lack of a better term, "ghosting" and strange distortions in the back ground or on the edges of the subject.  For example, I have a shot of several roller skates going by, when I do a time-remap to slow down part of the clip, some of the skates get a ghost image trailing them.  Not like a little on the edge but like a faded full extra skate.  Plus the background kind of distorts like looking through water.

I've spend days looking online for help and have even talked to Adobe and an Adobe ambassador here in town.  Anyone else having issues like this.  The things I'm doing, I've done dozens of times using Motion in FCP with no problems.

Here is an example:

http://vimeo.com/33057661

It's password protected. Password is stillslow

Software:

Adobe Production Suite 5.5 for Mac

Hardware:

MacBook Pro Dual Quad 2.2Ghz Intel Core i7

8GB RAM

AMD Radeon HD 6750M

Intel HD Graphics 3000

750GB Serial ATA 7200rpm Drive

High-Res Glossy Wide-Screen Display

Thanks for any imput

• 1. Re: Frame Blending Problems in AE 5.5
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

Well, by how much do you slow down? There are limits to even the smartest algorithms. That aside, based on the patterns showing a certain regularity in their timing I get the impression that something is not right with your footage interpretation, which would affect the result if frames are skipped...

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Frame Blending Problems in AE 5.5
            Dave LaRonde Level 6

The IT guys refuse to update my version of Flash, so I can't see the video.  How did you do this stuff previouslyin FCP?

You might give a combination of Time Remapping and Timewarp a shot: