2 Replies Latest reply on Dec 15, 2011 12:04 AM by Mylenium

Bizarre Issue regarding rendering?

DanGau156

Hi there,

I'm new to this software and my first project has created a bit of an issue.

For this work I wanted to give a lighting effect akin to a candle to a static image. I found a tutorial for the wiggle expression and applied it so. As far as I could see, everything seemed to be working in the large preview window.

ts1.jpg

However, when I rendered the project, the movie came out looking like this:

ts2.jpg

The wiggle effect works just perfectly, but the image is now skewed, almost like it isn't positioned correctly. I don't know if this is actually an issue of rendering or format even.

Has anyone had this issue? I haven't been able to find an adequate solution to this.

EDIT: Here;s a screencap of my render settings too: ts3.jpg

Thank you.

• 1. Re: Bizarre Issue regarding rendering?
          Dave LaRonde Level 6

Well, I'll just quote myself from the Creative Cow!

There aren't any effects applied to your still, so you couldn't have inadvertently used the Skew effect. I'm left with concluding that you have Open GL acceleration enabled for rendering, which is almost always a bad thing.

Adobe employees don't use it, so you should turn it off if it's on.

But if you're really new, and you're trying to go it alone, there is help available and you really should take advantage of it:

http://blogs.adobe.com/toddkopriva/2010/01/getting-started-with-after-eff.h...

You might be able to dope out how to insert a table into a Microsoft Word document just from the Help section. But as surely as day follows night, trying to learn AE without good training materials -- plus beginning at the beginning -- is a sure recipe for wasting time, frustration, and overlooking valuable features.

• 2. Re: Bizarre Issue regarding rendering?
            Mylenium Most Valuable Participant