2 Replies Latest reply on Dec 15, 2011 8:21 AM by Steve Grisetti

how to do my video project ?

me44600

hello, my name is jerome, I live in France and I'm 17.

I saw on youtube a beautiful video ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uq3qnzA5_Dg&feature=g-like&context=G1249eALTukgbgAAAA ) and I would like to learn to do the same "video annimation".

I'm a beginner, and I never used any Adobe's software...

Could you tell me please with witch software can I do the same ? (maby a GIF software ?)

Thank you, have a nice day

• 1. Re: how to do my video project ?
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Hello Jerome,

Looking at that example, it appears that much of it, might have been done in a program, like Adobe Illustrator, and then assembled in Premiere, or more probably in Adobe After Effects, which is somewhat similar to Premiere, but with some big differences - rather than being a video editing program, it is a "compositing" program, and is very often used to composite images for animation.

Some of what we saw, can be completed in Premiere Elements, but the origination of the art, i.e. the forest of dead trees, the walking man, etc., came from another program.

In the case of both the trees, and the man, they were created with what is called an Alpha Channel, which separates them from the background - remember the opening shot of the trees? We see the clouds and sky between the "trees," so there is Transparency around those trees. Same for the man. Had he been a real human, he would have been shot against a greenscreen, and then the background would be Keyed out. In the case of drawn objects, the background is set up to be Transparent to begin with, so any is held back by the Alpha Channel.