9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 15, 2011 12:55 PM by grandill

How can I color correct the orange from night shots?

grandill Level 1

Hello, I've shot an event and pretty much the best action was at night, but I'm a beginner at this and didn't get the best iso and f's while filming. I used a nikon d90 and most of the shots turned out orange. Is there any way to recover the shot and give them a little color with masking, layers or something? I appreciate  any help I can get. I'll fix the noise with magic bullet denoiser.

orange.jpg

Thanks!

• 1. Re: How can I color correct the orange from night shots?
          Dave LaRonde Level 6

Wow, that's really bad.  Color Finesse might be able to HELP, but with the color balance so far off, I'm afraid there will be no total cure. 

Well, that's not quite true, but you should ask yourself this first: is it worth it to spend a week or more to only slightly improve the colors in the shot beyond what Color Finesse all by itself could do?

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: How can I color correct the orange from night shots?
            Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

There is almost no blue in the scene. Your best option would be to drop a cyan solid over the orange (opposite color) then set the blend mode to Color and adjust the opacity. That would throw a little blue in the scene. Then it's a matter of getting the red green and blue levels, gamma, and pedestal (black) levels close enough to bring some color back into the scene.

This is typical of Sodium lights. There's a huge hole in the blue part of the spectrum. Throw in the lack of any other light source and you've got a serious color problem that was compounded by the lack of proper color balance when you were shooting.

If it were my footage I'd just throw the blue or cyan layer over the orange, blend to color, and adjust the opacity, and go for a very low saturation look.

Screen Shot 2011-12-15 at 8.29.08 AM.png