8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 19, 2011 11:08 PM by amandasgarden

Remove indent after paragraph

amandasgarden Level 1

I'm new to scripting and I have a problem that scripting might be able to fix.

I have body text with indent but after headlines in the body text the indent sholud be removed. My editorial program only allowes me to use one paragraph style for the body text. When the text is placed on the page everything works fine because the editorial program fixes the text so that indent after headlines in the body text are removed.

But when the pagemakers move the hadlines the indent doesn't follow. Making indents is simple by using the paragraph style and to remove the indent I now use a script.

THis made me thinking.

Is it possible for a script to:

1. Identify all headlines in the body text (the paragraph style is called Mellanrubrik)

2. Remove the indent on the body text paragraph that follows

I have tried using this but I don't know what to write between the commands.

if (appliedParagraphStyle=Mellanrubrik)

app.selection[0].firstLineIndent=0

Best regar

ds

Mikael Wiik, Sweden

• 1. Re: Remove indent after paragraph
          [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

That's a reasonable starting point. First off, you cannot simply use the name of your style; you need to 'look it up' using "app.activeDocument.paragraphStyles.item("Mellanrubrik")". Second, if you use the Find function to locate your heads, the 'selection' will not 'hold' the next paragraph. There are several ways to increment the, uh, 'cursor' (not really) to the next paragraph, but the easiest way is to use 'nextItem' on the Found Item's paragraph object.

With those adjustments, your little scriptlet works once only, and the next step would be to make it work on an entire document:

1. Find all headlines.

2. For each of the found headlines,

a. Check if the next paragraph is your body text (I'd advise this check)

b. If so, set its indent to '0'.