5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 29, 2011 5:14 AM by gunder2011

How to check if a page item is outside a page

gunder2011

Hi all

I'm a developer tasked with doing some automation in InDesign, using scripting via .NET. As I'm a developer, I'm not really fluent in the language of layout, so please bear with me.

My script creates a variable amount of TextFrame's on a page and moves them, and then rotates them. Some of them might exit the page on the right side. If only one of the text frame's bottom-right anchor point happens to be outside of the page to the right, I need to detect it. It's no problem iterating over the text frames, but the challenge is how I determine if a text frame's bottom-right anchor point is positioned outside of the page.

I've looked at GeometricBounds, but as soon as the position is to the right of the page, the coordinates start from 0 again. So I can't do it like GeometricBounds.X > Page.Width, because GeometricBounds.X will less than Page.Width when it's to the right of the page.

I've also looked at PageItem.Resolve, but that function really confuses me. I tried resolving the anchor point to pasteboard coordinates, and that seems to work okay. But then I have to get the page's right edge in pasteboard coordinates, and it doesn't seem I can use PageItem.Resolve to get that.

I've looked at the programming guide to figure out how the different coordinate systems work together, but when I use PageItem.Resolve, I get results that doesn't seem to be correct according to where the coordinate systems should be.

I'm sure it's easy to detect if a text frame is outside a page, but I just need a pointer in the right direction. Can anyone help me with that? :-)

Thanks in advance.

PS: I'm scripting for InDesign CS3.

• 1. Re: How to check if a page item is outside a page
          Harbs. Level 6

1) Use visibleBounds instead of geometricBounds (for transformed objects).

2) set the rulerOrigin to spread.