4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 13, 2012 7:18 PM by Production Monkey

Lingo collision detection(intersects).

nikoskas

Hello guys! I am a newbie at lingo and i have a big problem!!I am desperate!

First of all, i want to create a 2D game like unblock game but untill now i can't set the intersects between the bricks(actors) and the outline (in the stage i've create this outline beacuse is the room who the bricks are inside..).I want the bricks to stop when they intersect with the outline  .I placed almost 6 bricks and there is only one that must get out of the outline.

I know that my code must be something like this(maybe) :

on enterframe me

if sprite (5).intersects(1) then  --sprite 5 the brick and sprite 1 the outline

--what i must write here to stop the brick when touches the outine??

end if

end

I have read for Color-based collisions and location-based collision but they were not so understandable to me.. :/

Please help  meeeeeeeee!!!!!

Any advice will be helpful!!!!

Thanx in advance!!

P.S. Sorry if my english are awful!!

Greetings from Greece...!!

• 1. Re: Lingo collision detection(intersects).
          zDreams

The following will move sprite(5) to the same location over and over (at the current frame rate of the movie), which will effectively stop it. However, it is still possible for other Lingo, such as the code that actually moves the sprite, to override this, on a separate frame, for example.

on enterFrame me

if sprite(5).intersects(1) then  --sprite 5 the brick and sprite 1 the outline

sprite(5).loc = sprite(5).loc -- keeps the sprite in the same location

end if

end

The following is a simple way to have a state cancel itself out when a condition is TRUE.

property pStop

on enterFrame me

if pStop = FALSE then

if sprite(5).intersects(1) then  --sprite 5 the brick and sprite 1 the outline

sprite(5).loc = sprite(5).loc -- keeps the sprite in the same location

pStop = TRUE

end if

end if

end