2 Replies Latest reply on Dec 20, 2011 10:43 AM by jaymcdonald

better ways to animate?

jaymcdonald Level 1

I'm just getting started in AE, and trying to leverage my knowledge from both Flash and Photoshop. I have created this simple animation as a small opportunity to familiarize myself with the details of efficient workflow and animation solutions. It works fine, but I have some questions:

1) The spreading wings animation: I have two separate pieces of art masked by two separate matte layers. I linked the rotation animation of one to the inverse of the rotation of the other one (which I keyframed) using a simple expression. What I want to know is: Instead of having two separate things that are linked, isn't there some way to mirror the first wing with an effect? I tried it, but the wing was mirrored *inside* the mask, and the second one was never visible.

2) I did the snake reveal using the old "soda straw wrapper" mask technique (watch the mask layer animate by itself - it looks like a crinkled soda straw wrapper unfurling in reverse back over a straw). Is there a more elegant way to do this? It seems this should be automatable. The mask for the other snake is the exact same layer, duped and flipped. Is there a way to handle this with some sort of mirroring, as well?

In both cases, it just seems like it would be cleaner to have *one* thing to work with, and not have to keep two identical things in sync through any subsequent changes.

3) I'd like to have the orb reveal using a circular wipe that starts really small and wipes outward from the center as an ever-expanding circle. All the effects seem to want to wipe around the circle like a clock hand. It seems like this should be simple to do... but how? (I realize I could use an animated matte layer, but figured there was a simple effect that would accomplish this)

http://download.hexatrope.com/caduceus.zip

• 1. Re: better ways to animate?
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant