6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 21, 2011 2:47 PM by TᴀW

baseline options, my wish isn't there

WeiaR

I work for years with InDesign and in fact always have hated the way InDesign works with text in text frames. As a type designer I see a letter as a piece of lead, just the way my 15th century hero Nicolas Jenson did, with a little bit of white above the ascenders (k, l etcetera) and a little bit of white below descenders (y, Q etcetera). Now I have a text frame and set text in it, I expect the letter with its space as designed to touch the left side of the text frame, as it does, and to to touch the top line of the frame, it doesn't. None of the baseline options is OK. Some of them even lead ascenders to ascend above the text frame, which should be forbidden. Closest to my wish is baseline option 'leading', but it gives too much white above. Sigh.

Add a baseline option 'classic' and you'll never have to think about baselines anymore as long as you use simple multiples for all font sizes in your documents.

• 1. Re: baseline options, my wish isn't there
          TᴀW Adobe Community Professional & MVP

If you use "fixed" you can set the first baseline to whatever you want.

Ariel

• 2. Re: baseline options, my wish isn't there
            WeiaR Level 1

'Fixed' is putting a full line outside the frame. Who would like to have that? Here you have them, no difference between 'ascent' and 'cap height', 'leading' extra white above the top line, 'fixed' silly. Normal text 20 on 20, heading 40 on 40, baselines 20 points from top of frame, text not on baselines. 'Ascent' and 'cap height' does not give the heading its 40 points.

Afbeelding 29.png

• 3. Re: baseline options, my wish isn't there
              David W. Goodrich Level 3

Try setting the first baseline's minimum leading to something other than the usual default of zero -- and note that this setting doesn't require fixed width.

David

• 4. Re: baseline options, my wish isn't there
                WeiaR Level 1