15 Replies Latest reply: Dec 22, 2011 5:33 PM by Rick Gerard RSS

Undoing a precomp

Neptunesalad1 Community Member

I'm using Premiere Pro to edit a proect and am doing a LOT of AE work to it (and I'm somewhat new to AE, so pardon my stupidity if this is obvious). When I'm working on the Premiere Pro timeline and chose to "replace with AE composition," all of the layers I'm working with in Premiere open in AE already precomposed. For the most part, this isn't a big deal but if I need to motion track a clip AE won't allow me to do that to the precomp - and when I double-click and open up the source comp, it's the entire take (sometimes very long - and therefore difficult to just copy and paste into my dynamically linked comp).

All I want is to be able to motion track a short clip ported over from Premiere Pro without having to go into the source clip. The easiset (hypothetical) way to do this would be to un-precompose the clip (which AE doesn't seem to be able to do) or not send individually-precomposed clips from Premiere in the first place. I hope all this makes sense - but if anyone knows how I can avoid the annoying step of having to leave the media I've set up in Premiere Pro and messing with raw footage again, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Undoing a precomp
          Rick Gerard CommunityMVP

In After Effects select the Track Motion work area or open up the Tracker panel by going to Window>Tracker. Open up the composition that contains the footage that you want to track. In the tracker Panel Select Pre-comp from the Motion Source. In the timeline select the Pre-comp layer. Track motion.

There you go. It wouldn't be any easier if you'd read the directions.

Screen Shot 2011-12-21 at 12.51.12 PM.png

• 2. Re: Undoing a precomp

Firstly, thanks for the answer!