1 Reply Latest reply on Dec 31, 2011 5:33 PM by John Hall

Is Flex for Me?

DJVEE

Hi,

I'm contemplating writing some software for use on phones, pads, etc.  I've never done this before, and largely have only decades-old experience with FORTRAN based on an engineering background.  If I want to start a software company focused in software for electrical engineering (and other areas), would FLEX be a good choice? 

My questions are myriad, and include the following:

1.  Can I sell software produced using the free version of FLEX?

2.  Can I package code compiled on a PC with FLEX as a "wrapper" for the compiled code to permit access?

3.  Is the code I develop in FLEX running on the phone (requiring an installation package for the phone in addition to the software), or on the server, where the web site is located at which the code is "accessed"?

4.  Have there been liability/patent issues relative to the code in FLEX?

5.  Can FLEX code run on a PC desktop, on an I-PAD or I-POD, and on telephones?

6.  Can FLEX code do other odd things, like play MIDI music and draw images?

7.  Is FLEX the best choice for the first web applications produced by a start-up company, or is there another free option for web based development that is better?

8.  Will I spend too much time providing support for clients due to bugs in the free version of FLEX on certain platforms?

9.  What should I be asking about FLEX that simply isn't occurring to me because I lack the necessary experience in software development?

Thank you.

• 1. Re: Is Flex for Me?
          John Hall Level 4

DJVEE wrote:

Hi,

I'm contemplating writing some software for use on phones, pads, etc.  I've never done this before, and largely have only decades-old experience with FORTRAN based on an engineering background.  If I want to start a software company focused in software for electrical engineering (and other areas), would FLEX be a good choice? 

My questions are myriad, and include the following: