4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 2, 2012 3:15 PM by BillRab

PPro CS5.5 freezes -- what's going on?

BillRab

I'm an experienced video editor, but new to Premiere Pro. Running on an iMac with Mac OS 10.6.8. My first project is a pretty simple one -- only one long captured clip plus a few still photos overlayed in Video track 2.

I'm playing the sequence timeline, and about 4 minutes from the beginning playback just stops. Sometimes, Ppro just hangs completely -- no response to mouse clicks in the app or the menu bar, space bar, etc. Sometimes, though, I can select menu items, move the current time indicator, switch tabs and activate different windows within PPro, but nothing I've done restarts playback.

In the menu, I selected Quit. PPro closed all of the open windows, and then it hung before it completed the Quit operation. I got rid of it with a Force Quit.

This freezing behavior has occurred several times while I've been working on this project, and I'm only about 4 minutes into the timeline. At this rate, I'll never finish the project.

As a "newbie" to PPro, I would appreciate any explanation of what's going on, and all suggestions about how to avoid this "freezing" behavior.

Thanks,

FastBIll

• 1. Re: PPro CS5.5 freezes -- what's going on?
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

>plus a few still photos

Photo Scaling for Video http://forums.adobe.com/thread/450798

-Too Large = Crash http://forums.adobe.com/thread/879967

How have your configured your hard drives (you do have more than one?) and exactly what kind of video is that one long clip?

Does your project match your video, so there is no red line over the timeline?

• 2. Re: PPro CS5.5 freezes -- what's going on?
            BillRab Level 1

Thanks for the suggestions, John.

In PPro, my timeline contains two clips on Video 1:

1. Teaser, about 11 seconds long

2. Show, just under 1 hour long