9 Replies Latest reply on Jan 6, 2012 1:29 AM by Ted Smith

Jumpy Playback in Elements 9

mtupshots

Hi,

I've been working with Premiere Elements 9 for a couple of months now and one problem I am continually running into is a jumpy, or skippy, playback.  When the video is initially brought into the software, it seems ok, although not quite as smooth as when veiwed on the camera.  Once I begin to work with it (cut, stabilize, lenghten/shorten time frame, etc) the play back starts to skip, even after rendering.  This is a huge problem for me because my main concern is being able to pull the smoother clips from the videos, as well as having a stabilization that works well enough to finish it off and give me a very smooth product. I can't tell which part of the video is orignially jumpy and which part is jumpy because of my playback issue.  We are recording in full HD 1920 x 1080 60p/i, and noticed that Adobe doesn't have this option.  We thought that might be the problem, so we have also tried full HD 1920x1080 24p, but it didn't seem to help.

So, I guess I have a couple of questions:

1) Could my computer be causing the problem of a skippy playback? Do I need a faster video card?

2) How well does the stabiliation work?  Can I expect that the oringinally jumpy clips can be made smooth with this software?

Thanks for your help!

Dani

• 1. Re: Jumpy Playback in Elements 9
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

It is true that you can not edit 60p video in Premiere Elements. That could be your main issue. (It also can not edit Full AVCHD in 24p.)

60i video is the same thing as 30i. (60i means 60 interlaced frames, which creates 30 frames per second.) I assume this is AVCHD video, so for 60i video, you would use the Full AVCHD project setting. (Make sure you also pick the correct sound -- stereo or 5.1)