6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 2, 2012 4:54 PM by John T Smith

Laptop Build Questions

huffimus_prime

Hello all,

I am replacing my old desktop and laptop with a new laptop that is better than both. I am a film student and I prefer to do my editing at home as opposed to the school so editing capabilities is a must. I own the Production CS5.5 and I would like to build my laptop to match. I've decided on an Alienware because they are the only ones who provide Nvidia cards in a laptop and provide a nice exterior at a somewhat reasonable price, and I am deciding between the M14x and the M17x. My main question has to do with a video card - the cheaper laptops come with a Geforce GT555M card with either 1.5GB DDR3 or 3GB DDR3. The higher end laptops have a Geforce GTX560M or GTX580M with DDR5. Can those higher end video cards enable GPU acceleration? If not, is the DDR5 worth the upgrade to the more expensive laptop?

Also of question is the upgradeable memory. What is the performance difference between 8GB and 16GB? Is it worth buying the more expensive laptop for the ability to upgrade to 16GB alone?

Lastly, will the addition of an eSATA port for external storage make a big difference? I'd rather keep my storage external so I can move it to school when I need to, and because I just won't be able to get the kind of storage that editing requires in a laptop without losing another feature that I want like an optical drive or portability.

I'd rather go with the cheaper, lighter, smaller M14x if the hardware differences aren't going to make a huge difference. If they are, then I'll know what I need to do. Of course, everything would be much easier if editing applications would just support ATI cards. Thanks in advance for your help.

• 1. Re: Laptop Build Questions
          JEShort01 Level 4