6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 2, 2012 5:25 PM by rafikibubu

(new to scripting) Only allow certain paragraph styles to break to next column/page

rafikibubu Level 1

Hi all,

As stated, I'm very new to scripting. I've done a few small scripts to automate Photoshop tasks and such. I'm in the process of trying to learn Javascript as much as possible, with the hope of bringing about more efficiency for our small production department. It's a daunting task, but I'm trying my darnedest.

One of the number one goals I have is the find a way to automate pagination of weekly transaction records. These records run between 32 to 48 pages normally, with each page having 5 columns. Creation of these pages is very systematic, so it would seem that this process should be able to be automated, but there are some challenges I'm having a hard time thinking about how to attack.

One of the key tasks needing to be figured out is getting the records to go in with headings and subheadings always starting at the top of a page/column. Just about all the copy comes in with predetermined paragraph styles, so a script should easily be able to search for instances of each style. What needs to eb accomplished is only allowing the flow of copy to break on certain styles and not others ... (counties, towns, etc.)

For example: if you have the following  ...

----------------------

Countyland <styled "county">

Utopiatown <styled "town">

46 Appletree Lane ...... $500,000  <styled "listing">

Sold by: Some Guy   <styled "listing">

Bought by: Other Guy  <styled "listing">

Mortgage: This Bank  <styled "listing">

Date: 12/14/11  <styled "listing">

Dystopia Village <styled "town">

47 Orangeplant Road ...... $400,000  <styled "listing">

----------------------

If the two records above were to fall near the end of a column, the break to the next column should NOT occur anywhere except:

- Before the county (causing the county to start at the top of the next column