6 Replies Latest reply on May 28, 2008 4:41 PM by Dr.Funky

Actionscript editing

Dr.Funky Level 1
      I'm new to CS3; I'm editing a flash movie that someone else made, and I cannot find a piece of Actionscript, it's driving me crazy . I know it is in there somewhere because I decompiled the swf, but when looking at Actions (F9) it doesn't show up. Do you have an idea where I have to look? I've attached the start of the code below.

In the debugging file (swd) this code is preceded by: Actions for [No instance name assigned] (Brrn_Bttn)

Thanks in advance...
        • 1. Re: Actionscript editing
          Level 7
          Dr.Funky,

> button 6 {
          >
          > on (rollOver) {
          > ...

When you see on() or onClipEvent(), it means the code is attached
          directly to an object, such as a button, rather than to a frame, which is
          the currently recommended best practice.

Open your Actions panel and start clicking on objects to select them.
          You might have to double-click objects to enter into *their* timelines, then
          repeat the click-to-find process. It can get very tedious (and this is why
          it's considerably more helpful to put all your code -- or 90% of your
          code -- into keyframes. Not just that, but keyframes of a layer
          specifically set aside for ActionScript. Much easier to find.

David Stiller
          Co-author, Foundation Flash CS3 for Designers
          http://tinyurl.com/2k29mj
          "Luck is the residue of good design."

• 2. Re: Actionscript editing
            Dr.Funky Level 1
            quote:

Open your Actions panel and start clicking on objects to select them.

Can you clarify what you mean by this? Where exactly do I select these objects? When I use the "Edit Symbols" icon in the Timeline panel or Symbol Definitions in the Actions panel, I get different timelines, but not the script I'm looking for.
            • 3. Re: Actionscript editing
              Level 7