• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Remote Server Settings

New Here ,
Jan 03, 2012 Jan 03, 2012

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

First off, I have been using ColdFusion for over 10 years and have a very comfortable and familiar workflow using Dreamweaver. I have been interested in using the new ColdFusion Builder and Builder 2. I have tried setting up CF Builder a least half a dozen times over the last several years and just get so frustrated that I give up. Trying to set up a Remote Server is so confusing to me that I just give up. I don't know anything about J2EE except that I think I installed it by default when I upgraded from CF5 to CF8 on my Windows 2003 server. None of the tutorials out there are making any sense to me and many of them assume that you are setting up a local server (which I am not). Can someone please help me to understand the correct settings to set up a Remote Server in ColdFusion Builder 2?

I have CF8 installed on a Windows 2003 server with mostly default settings. My Websites and CFIDE directories are located on a separate partition but my ColdFusion8 directory is on the root. I am running IIS as my web server and I do believe that I have RDS set up.

I would appreciate a step-by-step orientation on how to set this up because, although I can follow a cook book, I prefer to understand the whats and why of what I am doing. Any help is appreciated! Thanks...

-Rob

TOPICS
Builder

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

One good first step... that I was made aware of by Ben Forta in one of his videos... is to install a developer copy of ColdFusion on the local PC.

Then... CFBuilder can talk to CF via local host.

This step helps to isolate pesky firewall and anti-virus settings.