4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 30, 2012 2:24 AM by dl_page

Trying to get my head around Flex :=)

dl_page

Hi everyone,

I am a flex noob, though I have 10 years dev experience in VB and PHP, and a bit less in JS, C and PICBasic. I get algorithms and general programming concepts without too much problems, but I am having a mental block with Flex. I'm playing with a mobile project, as this can have several repercussions on what is available in the Flex language, and what is not....

I have been playing with a Hello World app giving me a lot of cryptic errors and I have managed to work around most of them, and I can get the app to do most of what I want today, though I have some minor headaches if someone can take a few minutes to clarify the 5 points below for me, I'd be grateful.

1) Global static classes

I have got static classes working, though not really "global". Is there any way to declare a static class once without having to "import path.to.package;" in every individual mxml file, or do I, à la C, have to always import this, like I would have to redeclare my header includes in each source file?

2) Calling a static class, and calling a method from a click event

Once again, static classes, as I don't need to instanciate them... I for example want to call a method of a static class from a button's click event. This does not seem to work, as the package that contains it is not imported by the button that is clicked. Am I doing somthing wrong, or does the button have to call a local function in the same mxml file that calls from the code block the object?

Quick and dirty pseudo-code as I am not sure that I am clear enough. Can this be done ? (but how are the imports done in this case? ) :

<button click="staticClass.staticMethod()">

or is this the only way? :

<button click="localFunction()">

<script>

function localFunction() {

import path.to.my.static.class.package;   

staticClass.staticMethod();

}

</script>

3) No global static variables?