3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 7, 2012 7:16 AM by BobLevine

CS4 Preflight Profile dropdown only shows "Basic [working]" profile?

Angularian

I am new to InDesign, finally cracking it open as part of my Adobe CS4 Master Collection, and am using the Adobe "Classroom in a Book" to get to grips with it.

In the second lesson of "Classroom in a Book" there is a walkthrough of the "Preflight" functionality introduced for the first time in CS4.  It walks through changing the preflight profile from "Basic" to "B&W Job (embedded)" from the Profile dropdown in the Preflight panel.  However I can't replicate that step because all I'm seeing is the single profile I've already selected "(Basic) [working]"?

Do I need to install the profiles from somewhere else or is my copy of InDesign broken (updates always seem to fail with the completely meaningless "update failed" and a prompt to try again later or retry immediately which always fails again.  My current version is 6.0.6 according to the "About Help" information.

Thanks for any advice, tips (Yes, I know I should upgrade to CS 5.5 but hard to justify a cost of nearly £800 even with the discount especially since if I hold out a bit longer I will most likely be able to avoid paying that amount twice when CS6 gets announced).

Ian

• 1. Re: CS4 Preflight Profile dropdown only shows "Basic [working]" profile?
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)