5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 15, 2012 6:43 AM by Steve Grisetti

joining snipped ends

drinsect

Total newbie, using Premiere Elements 10 for about 3 days now, and I may not be using the correct terminology, so please forgive me.

I'm editing some lecture videos... well the video portion is an electronic capture board I'm making notes on, and the audio is the lecture itself.  I'm snipping out all the pauses, interuptions for questions, places where I wonder off subject, or giving instructions on when something is due, and so on.  So pretty much an 80 minute lecture comes down to around 50 minutes when I'm done.  However the resulting .prel file is made up of dozens of little snipped segments.  What I'm wondering, and haven't been able to find, is there some way to stich all those segments back together so that the prel file appears as a single continous file, like a freshly imported video appears?

I've got a couple of reasons for this.  I'd like to preserve that single file, and then be able to clip it up again as needed to different lengths - so students have smaller files for playback... perhaps 10 minutes per file for smart phones, or 1/2 hour for tablets...  Also I foresee in the future where a lecture has a 5 minute section on a specific thing, such as behavior, and I'd like to later extract that bit and add it to other behavior clips from other lectures, so I can have a video just on behaviors.  I guess in my early learning stages I just see this easier to do if the edited lecture is continuous file, and I'm not trying to snip again within existing snips, or trying to add a hundred numbered markers, etc...   Otherwise its going well, and I'm actualy getting good mp3 output for first attempts, though I haven't gotten fancy with titles and transitions yet.

Thanks for any and all help!

• 1. Re: joining snipped ends
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Well, yeah. That's kind of what video editing is all about, dr.