7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 16, 2012 6:19 AM by Rick Gerard

disable media cache

Oran L

Hi all, I'm a newbie here so any comment will be appriciated.

I have a machine which I use only for rendering projects in AE CS5. From what I understand from the documentation, I do not need the media cache on that machine, since I am not using previews. However, AE still uses this media cache, and I need every now and then to delete it manually because it takes a large portion of my drive. I have been trying to find an option to disable it, either in GUI or in the prefs file, but got nothing (there is an option to limit the disk cache, but not the media cache). The best I could find is a script to automatically delete it every day, say, but I'm afraid that if it will run on the same time with a render job it will cause an error.

Does anyone know how can I disable, or limit its size?

Thanks,

Oran

• 1. Re: disable media cache
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

There's a magical little text field in After Effects at the top right corner. It's called Search Help. Type media cache in there and you'll find lots of good info including the location for the settings.

Screen Shot 2012-01-14 at 11.24.45 PM.png

• 2. Re: disable media cache
            Oran L Level 1

Naturally, I read this help article, and searched the help for others. My question was how to disable the media cache, while this help article only explain how to change its location.

• 3. Re: disable media cache

Your media cache is used for rendering too. You can set convenient locations so It's easier to clean out, but you can't turn it off. It actually speeds up rendering and many Adobe apps use this cache. If it wasn't there none of the data that's used to do things like read timecode, match audio to video, and keep track of the footage would exist. It would have to be pulled out of the source files a frame at a time and that would slow things down a bunch.