7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 2, 2012 8:00 AM by bogiesan

Trying to animate music notes with audio (Example)

xaerr00

Hey, I'm really new to AE CS5, but after looking up some kinetic typography tutorials, I decided to try and make one for my band. I've been doing pretty good and have learned a lot, but for the bridge of the song I wanted to have the music notes pop up with the music, since there's no vocals in that part.

Very similiar to this video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y4sOfO8Ei1g

at 2:12 - 2:24

I've tried transcribing the part into a music notation software (Sibelius) and taking a picture of the notes it self, and the staff itself, but when I try to animate the notes on the timeline, it doesn't let me animate it the same as if it were text. Not sure if this makes a difference, but the standard timeline color for text is red, and with the image its like a teal color. I can't move it by frames, only by certain intervals which doesn't work at all for what I'm trying to do.

I hope this makes sense and hopefully someone could help me out or point me to someone/somewhere who can.

Thanks so much!

Danny

• 1. Re: Trying to animate music notes with audio (Example)
          Andrew Yoole MVP & Adobe Community Professional

To do it as nicely as it's done in your example, there's no easy way.  You will need to create the music in Photoshop or Illustrator, separate each note onto it's own layer, then import to AE as a Composition, and animate note by note. 

You could play around with a font that draws music notation, but it won't have nearly the flexibility or true note-by-note style of the version you linked to.

Cool clip, btw. :-)

• 2. Re: Trying to animate music notes with audio (Example)
            Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP