7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 16, 2012 9:35 PM by ziggycat4

Newbie question about Premiere Elements Organizer

ziggycat4

This is a pre-newbie – let’s say “virgin” question. If there is an answer already posted elsewhere, please send me a link.

• I’m about to install Premiere Elements 9 to do some clip editing and animation from still images.  This would be my first attempt to edit clip or do some animation from still images, besides using Windows Media Maker with my HS students. However, I have been a pretty serious photographer for 20+ years with 1,000’s of images which I now work on in PS CS5 Extended and Lightroom 3. I use Adobe Bridge and LR library to catalogue and organize my images. I’d like to continue to use AB / LR Library to organize my new clips and projects. From reading Bill’s posts, it seems I can use Adobe Bridge, copy my original file, resize in Photoshop, and save in a new folder to use for a Premiere project. This would seem to be most intuitive way for me to work. I already have keywords, metadata, actions in PS… etc. But I think Bill is using Premiere Pro, while I’ll be installing Premiere Elements, which comes bundled with Elements Organizer. Do I need to install or use Elements Organizer? What are the advantages/disadvantages or EO?  I guess I’m a little worried about installing the programs and having EO automatically acquire images using presets/defaults that I don’t want to use as well as issues with subfolders, etc. I'm running Windows 7.

Thanks

FYI- this is a great animation project

http://www.thejohnnycashproject.com/#/explore/TopRated

• 1. Re: Newbie question about Premiere Elements Organizer
          the_wine_snob Level 9

I have hardly scratched the surface with Organizer, and rely heavily on either Bridge, or ThumbsPlus (Cerious Software), which is similar, but with some additional features.