7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 16, 2012 9:49 PM by Ted Smith

How do you fade video back and forth amongst tracks?

enigmacypher

I am new to Adobe Premiere, and I have what I hope is a simple question....

Is there an easy way to fade video back and forth between different tracks?  I have a project with multiple camera angles, and I would like to fade from one to another repeatedly. In Vegas Movie Studio, this can be easily done by inserting a composite level envelope to each video track, and then right clicking wherever a fade is desired and inserting a control point that can be dragged. This gives full control over the level of opacity for that track at that point in time.  The closest I have found in Premiere Elements is right clicking on the video track and selecting Fade-->Fade In Video (or Fade Out Video).  This sometimes gives me a control point that can be dragged, but not always.  This worked for the first two fade points, but I am no longer getting control points with this method.

Any advice would be appreciated.

• 1. Re: How do you fade video back and forth amongst tracks?
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

It's done essentially the same say as in Vegas -- or any editing program.

Just put one video source one Video 1 and the other, synchronized to it, on Video 2, directly above it.

Then you just just and remove from video 2 when you want Video 1's video to show and add a Fade In or Fade Out to create the fade back and forth. (These are available via right-click menus. Just right-click on the track you want to fade in or out.)

If you understand how to use keyframes, you can even just use Opacity to fade back and forth between tracks rather than cutting clips from Video 2. When Video 2 is set to Zero Opacity, Video 1 will display, and you can keyframe the Opacity in and out to fade between tracks.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: How do you fade video back and forth amongst tracks?
            the_wine_snob Level 9