5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 18, 2012 4:13 AM by Rick Gerard

Noob question about resolution

thisscreennameisbad

I am a noob and I am getting very frustrated the very first time I've used After Effects.

I have a composition given to me in 1080p and all I want to do is scale it down to 720p and render it at that resolution.

At the moment I am just going to the composition settings and typing in the new desired render size.

When I render the video it gives me a video that is in 720p but instead of scaling down the video it seems to have cut out the middle of it instead.

How do I solve this problem.

• 1. Re: Noob question about resolution
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

What you see in the composition window is what will render, providing you can see all of the composition window. You'll have to scale your video down to fit the composition. Whenever you're scaling you must make sure that the x and y values are identical to avoid distortion. I often use Layer>Transform>Fit to comp width. The keyboard shortcut is Shift + Alt/Option + Cmnd/Ctrl + H. Use the menu and you'll find the keyboard shortcuts right next to the function.

• 2. Re: Noob question about resolution
            Mylenium Most Valuable Participant
            When I render the video it gives me a video that is in 720p but instead of scaling down the video it seems to have cut out the middle of it instead.

It works as it always has and is supposed to. Comps do not scale. All spatial values in AE are absolute, not relative. You'll need to use nesting and fitting as Rick already suggested or simply use the stgretch options in the output module settings. Anyway, read this.

Mylenium

• 3. Re: Noob question about resolution