5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 10, 2012 11:48 AM by alianj

Is it possible?

alianj

Well, ye basicly that's the problem, when i try to do so, the layers order is still present in After Effects, so if i put the layer under the 3D mesh (Gears)it will show me the front part of the Gears, but the back part as well, i want to set the image "Inside" of the gear. Not under ir nor on top of it.

Here's an example of the effect i'm trying to archieve, it's the only example i could find.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WxNtHNAekFs

I've thought of making it in Cinema 4D but i can't find the way to import the image into cinema 4D. (i'm still a bit new with it)

IT's made by a Chinese Author, i can't say for sure it was made only in AE but he mostly uses AE for it.

I created the Gears as u can see but i find it rather impossible to apply the image the same way he does.

And with an another 3D program would mean by any chance Cinema 4D? if so how can i import an image like to cinema 4D?  cause the only way possible i know (i'm a newb still in Cinema 4D) is by applying a Material to a source right?!

If there's anyone that knows how. i would highly apreciate to know how to archieve that effect. Even if it's possible with another program i sadly don't have, i can't stop thinking about it.

Thnx Again.

• 1. Re: Is it possible?
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

You need to render a depth pass in Cinema 4D and use that as a luma matte. By adjusting the matte with e.g. a Levels effect, you would determine the clipping plane, giving the illusion that the image is inside the gears.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Is it possible?
            alianj Level 1

Wow Thank u so much Mylenium finally an answer! could u just tell me how to do that depth pass in cinema 4D! Or link me to any tutorial i've been asking this almost everywhere but coulnd't find an answer! Thank you soo much! and also if u could explain the whole think a  bit more detailed!!