12 Replies Latest reply on Jan 24, 2012 1:23 AM by Katia M*

Formatting book

andreahelenexcell Level 1

I am new to this and can anyone help? I am writting a book and want to do so in Indesign 5.5 Qustion..How do I set it up and does the programme word count? I ned the text to flow but not sure how to do this.

• 1. Re: Formatting book
          MW Design Level 4

I'll give you my opinion. Write it in Word if you have it, or LibreOffice if you don't. I don't think LibreOffice has an outline mode (could be wrong) and so my preference would be a word processor that does.

Even if you start out with a solid, on-paper outline, you will be deleting, moving and rearranging items or whole sections around. Outline mode ina  word processor will make that portion far easier. You'll be able to concentrate on the writing more than how it looks.

Take care, Mike

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Formatting book
            Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

I'll second that. Word processors are for creative writing and layout programs like InDesign are for making the page look good after your writing is done. It's not impossible to write directly in ID, but it adds an additional burden. During the writing process you should not be concerned with the layout or format of the book (text styling is OK, but don't worry about how it fits on the page).

• 3. Re: Formatting book
              Katia M* Level 1

Hello Peter,

you seems to know this program very well.

I am french and live in Germany (just for the case you speak one of this language)

I 've been published, childrenbooks. So the text and the pictures exist already.

I would like to make an Ibook, with fews interactiv tools integrated.  I don't have any Idea how Indesign does fonction...It is clear that I have to get a formation.