1 Reply Latest reply on Jan 23, 2012 3:05 AM by Peter Spier

Help - setting up a document for A4 printing

NZLKnight

Hi everyone,

I am very new to InDesign - using CS5.5. Trying to set up my first A4 document for printing. I an unsure of the printers settings but just want to check in the document - i need to have my background image right to edge of the bleed (3mm), and any text needs to be kept inside the magenta box - or can it go right out to the black line?

My image isn't quite big enough to go right to the top on the bleed line so i have used the same color rectanlge at the top . . . will this work? You can tell its a differnt image. Needs to go right to the edge of the page.

Is there any I need to do specifically to set this up to be printed ? Thanks for any ideas/suggestions/comments

• 1. Re: Help - setting up a document for A4 printing
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

Bleed is area outside the theoretical trim area of your page and it is used to compensate for misalignments during cutting. A typical bleed would be 1/8" or 3mm and any art or color that is intended to reach to the edge of the page after trimming should extend beyond the page edge (black line) by that amount. Set up the document at the trim size (in this case A4) and then press the more options button in the document setup dialog to reveal the Bleed and Slug fields. Enter the bleed amount and press OK and you'll see a new red guide outside the page boundary. Is this a facing apges document? How many pages? How will it be bound?