6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 24, 2012 7:51 AM by the_wine_snob

Can I crop a clip?

ForumCruiser Level 1

Hi,

Here is another newbie question. I tried to search for an answer but couldn't find one.

I am recording clips for an eLearning series in a small "studio" at work. It is about eight feet wide so given I use a modern 16:9 camera (Canon XA10) I can only do closeups (head and upper torso) of the person I record. If I zoom out I will get the side walls and also the stands for the lighting in the picture. I am just beginning to learn the trade but have been able to overexpose the background so that it is completely white.

I would like to get some more varied shots with a person standing up so I am looking for a way to cut out the left and right edges of the clip. Another solution would be to fill the edges with the white background color.

Is there a solution for this in Premiere Elements? I hope you understand my question.

Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Can I crop a clip?
          the_wine_snob Level 9

There are two ways to accomplish what you are looking for:

The Crop Effect and the Garbage Matte. Either will accomplish eliminating objects beyond your background.

Both are applied from the Effects Tab, and each allows you to adjust the Effect to suit.

Good luck,

Hunt

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Can I crop a clip?
            ForumCruiser Level 1

Thanks for a quick reply!

Is it possible to change the language of the program to English? Took me a while to find the corresponding effects in my Swedish version...

So I now understand how to crop the clip. The crop effect does what I need. However, the area that is deleted is now black. Can I make it into another color, preferably the same as I have in the background of my clip?

Thanks.

• 3. Re: Can I crop a clip?
              the_wine_snob Level 9