37 Replies Latest reply on Jan 27, 2012 12:39 PM by Trevor.Dennis

CPU advice for new PC Build

erininamori

I'm an illustrator and I use Photoshop only as a painting tool, I don't use any 3D tools etc. What components would best suit Photoshop for best performance? What I'm after is less lag when painting with large brush sizes or smudging. I'm also getting into the habbit with working at much larger sizes these days (5000px).

So far for a new build I will be getting 16gb of RAM and some SSDs, I'm not too sure on which CPU would be best though, AMD or Intel and do more cores = faster Photoshop?

Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: CPU advice for new PC Build
          Noel Carboni Level 8

Intel always just seems a little more compable with everything. If I were building a new system now I'd go with Intel.

May I suggest considering building a RAID 0 out of fast, high-reliability spinning drives instead of using SSDs, unless your budget is loose enough to allow you to put at least 500 GB (ideally 1 TB) of SSD space in the machine.  I am continually reading about people who are struggling with full SSDs.  Don't skimp on the space!  If you cannot afford SSD, a RAID setup can get you SSD-level performance with spinning drives.  Just to give you an idea, I have a 2 TB drive C: I have been using since Windows 7 was released, and after several years of use 1 TB is free.

In the past few years it's seemed to me that quad core processors with large caches yield a good balance.  That's why I have a system with dual quad core Xeon x5460s (now a few years old).  It has performed well, and I have been able to use the mixer brush to do painting quite interactively, though things DO slow down if you try to go TOO big on the brush sizes (or too small on the spacing).  Photoshop simply has to access too many pixels too often for it to be blazingly fast to paint with a large brush, even on the most modern machines.