13 Replies Latest reply on Jan 25, 2012 2:38 AM by medeamajic

ripple tool is buggy

TKane31

Kind of a newbie here coming from avid and final cut so maybe I'm missing something here. Is anyone else experiencing the ripple tool behaving in odd ways. It always seems to work when I need to ripple forward but whenever I need to ripple back many times it just does a normal trim creating a gap. Sometimes I'm able to get it to work correctly by switching to a roll tool, rolling the edit, hitting control z then grabbing the ripple tool again. Plenty of handles and in the example I show that by doing a roll on the cut point yet it just won't ripple backwards.  Please see linked vid.

Thanks,

Tim

http://vimeo.com/35574288

• 1. Re: ripple tool is buggy
          cvid01 Level 4

I'm not so sure it's buggy. It may be designed that way. I believe it does that because of the audio tracks. Move the second audio track to the right and try the ripple to the left again. It might work. It does work if audio and video are linked. It may be a bug, but perhaps it is designed that way because of the presence and location of the audio tracks. Also try it without audio tracks and see if it works properly.

• 2. Re: ripple tool is buggy
            TKane31 Level 1

Thanks for the feedback. Yes, your right I copied the clips to a new sequence without audio and it worked. Whether or not its a bug may be open to discussion but the clip I was trying to ripple wasn't linked to any audio whatsoever and the edit I was trying to perform would have no effect on any clips that do have linked audio so there shouldn't have been any conflict. After playing around some more I discovered I can't ripple any of my b-roll clips (which live on another video track) backwards only forward. If this isn't a buy it certainly should be modified to work regardless if a clip is linked to any audio or what is happening on other video tracks.

Thanks for your insight at least now I know what to look for.