11 Replies Latest reply on Jan 27, 2012 4:21 AM by Peter Spier

One Link, Many Instances?

S. Gordon

I'm new to InDesign but experienced with Illustrator. I'm using CS5.5.

I've got artwork in Illustrator for a set of 6 icons. I want to import the 6 icon files (in Illustrator format) into InDesign and then copy and paste the icons multiple times in cells in a table I created. My first attempt at this resulted in the Links panel displaying 292 links (divided among the 6 icons). I don't think I'm doing this right. Should the Links panel show just 6 links (one for each imported Illustrator artwork file) and I copy and paste an "instance" of that link? This would be similar to Illustrator where you can convert artwork into a "symbol" and every time you copy and paste you're dealing with a symbol "instance" rather than a duplicate of the actual artwork (thus reducing the file's size).

• 1. Re: One Link, Many Instances?
          Stix Hart Level 5

That is how it should be working, although you can see the file multiple times it is only there once in InDesigns memory.

Since CS5 however you have been able to change the way they are diplayed, see the circled arrow in this picture:

1.png

You can click on that to collapse the list down to one line, and it will show in brackets how many instances of the link there are.   If you want to replace the link click on the top line and relink and you'll do all instances at once, or click on an individual instance to only replace that one.

• 2. Re: One Link, Many Instances?
            S. Gordon Level 1

Thanks, Stix. That is what I ended up with in my Links panel. A "parent" link, and then underneath it all of the instances of that link resulting from multiple copies and pastes. I found that the file size of an exported PDF was larger than I expected and thought it must be from the 292 individual instances of the 6 parent links.