3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 25, 2012 8:23 AM by MichaelMarkham

Please help: Premiere has slowwed to a crawl.

MichaelMarkham

Hi, I am a photographer and video editor. I built my computer about 15 months ago to work with CS5 and the Mecury Playback Engine. In the past few months it has been slowing down at an alarming rate. Over the holidays I created a video montage of pictures from my brother's wedding and Premiere kept stopping with an error that read something like 'Open GL driver failed' adding something about 'lack of memory'. I had to switch to software mode and avoid playing the timeline (to avoid rendering each photo, there were well over 100) so I could finish it in time. And now a project I am getting paid for will no longer play back smoothly. I get about 1 second of smooth video before it starts jumping and freezing all together. The audio continues but the picture does not. Here's what I have.

Intel Core i7 950 (quad core) 3.07GHz

12.0 GB Ram

Windows 7 Pro 64bit SP1 fully updated

Nvidia GTX 470 w/ 1280 MB GDDR5

current driver. 285.62

C: 60GB SSD for system and programs 4.64GB free

E: 300GB 10000 rpm 16MB cache VeliciRaptor Drive for Project files preview files/scratch disks and such 134GB free

G: 1TB 7200 rpm 32MB cache Barracuda Drive for Assets 158GB Free

I have 2 other drives but they are not used in this workflow.

Page file = 36859 automatically managed

My Power Usage plan is set to High Performance.

I am editing in Premiere Pro CS5.5.2 (003 (MC: 258762))

The programs I have running in the background are: Realtek HD Audio Manager, NVIDIA Settings, Zone Alarm (security), Dropbox 1.1.45, Spyder3Utility, and as of today Spybot.