10 Replies Latest reply on Jan 25, 2012 3:20 PM by HeyMikey

Help Please - exporting to pdf with links

rollsnut Level 1

I am using CS5.5 on a PC with windows 7

I am just getting into this aspect of my query. I am creatind a document with various sections. The output will be a pdf document and I'd like to have the "links or bookmarks" show up automatically when the file is opened by the users.

I have read the hyperlinks and bookmark sections and tried a few things but am not seeming to get it. I know this has to be a simple process and I need to learn it.

Is there a tutorial somewhere I can go through to learn this?

I hope my query is clear.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Brad

• 1. Re: Help Please - exporting to pdf with links
          iBabs2 Level 1

HI Brad,

I work on a mac, but hopefully this will be similiar.

For the links to show up, make sure you export for PDF (Interactive), not the regular one for (Print).

For your bookmarks to show up on open.

In Acrobat-go to the properties area...on the mac its under the File menu.

In the Properties area, there is a tab called initial view.

Here you can make decisions on how the PDF opens up for the recipient. (you can choose pages and bookmarks as an option). You can also choose what size it opens up etc.
          Again, this is how I do it on the mac, but hopefully you will find something similar.

babs

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Help Please - exporting to pdf with links
            daevaux Level 1

Hi Brad,

I'm a little unclear about your question. Are you asking how to make the bookmarks panel appear in acrobat when you open the pdf? If so, in Acrobat, go to File > Properties > Initial View > Navigation Tab: Bookmarks Panel and Page.

• 3. Re: Help Please - exporting to pdf with links
              rollsnut Level 1

iBabs2 and davaux: