6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 26, 2012 4:27 PM by Joel Cherney

Paragraph Alignment Issues

camaronick5

Okay I am a novice when it comes to using Indesign and am putting together a lengthy document that requires paragraph headers.

Im having some trouble adjusting the headers seperate from the body of the paragraph. The headers do not appear at the begining of every paragraph so I have been attempting to change the headers manually. My issue is with their alignment, I want my headers Align Left with the body Justified. When I change one line the alignment effects the whole paragraph. The only solution I can come up with is a hard return and then adjust the leading back to make the text tight again.

Any help is greatly appericated.

• 1. Re: Paragraph Alignment Issues
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

A screen shot would help. Use the camera icon on the web page like this:

CameraIcon.png

It sounds though like your headers are not separate paragraphs, and they probably do need to be in order to do waht you are asking.

• 2. Re: Paragraph Alignment Issues
            camaronick5 Level 1

Id love to send you a screen shot but the text is for a legal document for a financial institution so ill just try and explain it here. The text reads like this:

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet.

consectetur adipiscing elit. Nunc est augue, sagittis eu faucibus ut, euismod quis lectus. Mauris feugiat tellus id nulla eleifend elementum cursus tellus dignissim. Mauris eget mi lorem. Sed suscipit molestie mattis. Nam ac lectus quam. Aliquam dolor tortor, tincidunt ut tempor in, ultrices id ligula. Pellentesque tincidunt magna ut augue malesuada blandit. Nulla facilisi. Integer sed ligula vitae magna gravida consectetur.