3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 17, 2008 2:18 PM by peterskeeter

Edit a dataGrid

Dizzia Level 1
      Alright, let me preface this with the fact that I'm new to flex.

I have been using tutorials, writeups, blogs, etc to try to solve my problems. And every so often I get one that just dumbfounds me.

So I have a datagrid that's being filled up with an assortment of text input / values, they fill when the user clicks a button called 'add'.
      My problem, is that I have a button called edit, so the user can click in the datagrid, and then instead of adding a new row, simply edit the row that already exists in the datagrid.
      I also have a button called remove, that I'd like to setup to remove the currently selected row.
      *EDIT*One last thing (hoping this will be possible) I'd like to get the currently selected row to repopulate the original text input boxes / values that were used to originally populate it with the add command.*EDIT* got this working

Just to be clear, I can throw the data into the thing, Now I just need a way to get the data out. Half way to getting this working I think.

Thanks for any and all help.
        • 1. Re: Edit a dataGrid
          peterskeeter
          You use a dataprovider to fill the datagrid right (say if an Arraycollection ?) ?
          Simply do work on that dataprovider using the Arraycollection functions
          like:
          To get the selected item in your DG:

var myObj:Object = new Object();
          myObj = myArrayCollection.getItemAt(myDataGrid.selectedIndex)
          Alert.show(myObj.firstname + " is the selected firstname in my DG");

To delete an item in the Arraycollection(and hence the DG):

myArrayCollection.removeItemAt(myDataGrid.selectedIndex);

Once you do work on your arraycollection, because its a dataprovider to your DG the DG will reflect those changes...
          • 2. Re: Edit a dataGrid
            Dizzia Level 1