4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 31, 2012 6:00 AM by Michael L Hale

Scripting/automating question

tbush04

I am on a mac using CS5 and I do a lot of repeated tasks at my company and I'm looking to minimize the time in doing these tasks. We produce digital mock ups of our products to show in our catalogs and website. The first image is our digital template that we multiply art onto and the second image shows final image. We several digital templates that we apply art to. Our art to be applied is in photoshop and illustrator.

Is there a way to automate or script this? I have played around in actions but can't get it to transform correctly. I have also played around with Mac Automator + robot photoshop. All the information I can find is how to apply changes to a single file and nothing on pulling images from one file to another. Ideally I would like a "hot" folder that I can drag a file into and the final catalog image is produced.

I'm new to scripting but willing to learn it to get some of these tasks minimized so we have more design time.

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks.

Tara

Picture 3.pngPicture 4.png

• 1. Re: Scripting/automating question
          Muppet Mark Level 5

Scripts can automate many things in Photoshop doing the couple of steps required for this is scriptable… To just do this on a single instance of adding a file to to folder is not going to prove much of a time saver IMO… Doing it to a folder of files may prove more worth your while…

I'm new to scripting but willing to learn it to get some of these tasks minimized so we have more design time.

Yeah I fell for that one too… learning to script time ate up all the design time… and some more and doing so…

• 2. Re: Scripting/automating question
            Michael L Hale Level 5