4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 2, 2012 7:12 AM by the_wine_snob

color grade via solid color blocks

4big4ilK4y

I am using Premiere Elements 10 on a MacBook Pro and I'm wondering how to apply a solid block of color to a clip and then reduce the opacity to give it a sort of a hazy look, as opposed to playing with individual settings (i.e. tint, saturation, contrast, etc.), though a combination is in all likelihood ideal. I know it was possible to do this in some of the early versions and I'm hoping this is the case here as well. I'm new to APE from Final Cut Express 4. All help is greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: color grade via solid color blocks
          nealeh Level 5

Yes, opacity is one of the key properties of a clip. Open the clip properties and click arrowhead by opacity and select your %.

1.png

Cheers,

--

Neale

Insanity is hereditary, you get it from your children

• 2. Re: color grade via solid color blocks
            the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.

For a solid, color "block," you can create a Title, with a rectangular Shape. You would then size and position that Shape in the Titler (Tile Editing Panel), to suit, adjust its color there too. Just drag that Title to your Timeline on a Video Track above your Video, and adjust the Duration, as needed. Then, as Neale points out, adjust the Opacity, as is needed.

In this example, there is a rectangular Shape (that goes from Frame edge to Frame edge, with reduced Opacity, below the Text Title, "This is Heathrow:"

Lower-Third.jpg

Hope that helps,

Hunt

• 3. Re: color grade via solid color blocks
              4big4ilK4y Level 1