6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 2, 2012 8:28 AM by BigGunN

targeting basics

BigGunN Level 1

First let me appologize for what will seem a very basic question, but I am new to InDesign and Scripting and just had this project laid on me, and I can't seem to get my head around it.

Lets say I have 4 pages in a document.

Page 1 has 1 textframe

Page 2 has 2 textframes

Page 3 has 3 text frames

Page 4 has 4 text frames

Does using myInDesign.Documents.Item(1) target a page, a document, or a textframe?

Does using myInDesign.Pages.Item(1) target a page, or a textframe?

How do I target Page 2?

How do I target Textframe 3 on page 4?

Next, how do I target XML Nodes.  For example using the example XML from Adobe I have something like this:

<code>

<devices>

<device>

<name>Pulse/Triangle Voltage Controlled Oscillator</name>

<type>VCO</type>

<part_number>DS001</part_number>

<supply_voltage>

<minimum>3</minimum>

<maximum>18</maximum>

</supply_voltage>

<package>

<type>DIP</type>

<pins>16</pins>

</package>

<price>3.25</price>

<description>A wide range, temperature-compensated voltage controlled ocsillator featuring 1 volt per octave exponential response. Pulse and triangle waveform output.</description>

</device>

<device>

<name>MultiWave Voltage Controlled Oscillator</name>

<type>VCO</type>

<part_number>DS002</part_number>

<supply_voltage>

<minimum>3</minimum>

<maximum>15</maximum>

</supply_voltage>

<package>

<type>SOIC</type>

<pins>18</pins>

</package>

<package>

<type>DIP</type>

<pins>18</pins>

</package>

<price>3.79</price>

<description>A wide range, temperature-compensated voltage controlled ocsillator featuring 1 volt per octave exponential response. Pulse, triangle, and sine waveform output.</description>

</device>

</devices>

</code>

If I target myDocument.XMLElements.Item(1) I all the data in all the nodes, but if I try this: myDocument.XMLElements.Item(2) I get an error saying it doesn't exist.